Dare Poem PAD April 8th, 2015

I Dare You

It started on the slopes at the crest

of the black diamond hill. My empty

stomach rumbled, I heard the skiers

hit the ice and scrape their edges,

carving into hard-packed snow,

but I could not move and leap

off that peak to schuss downhill,

so I cross-countried to the next lift,

stabbing my poles with each push.

It returned in Maine, on the rocks

of a sunny inlet. I could not jump

into the fifty-degree waves

from the boulder that protruded near

the beach. A loon cooed from the shore,

mocking me, its mate echoing the call.

And then you dared me to leap,

and I leapt, you dared me to jump,

and I jumped, you dared me to let

go, and I let go, but you did not.

Kim King © 2015

About k2king

Poeming to save myself
This entry was posted in My poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

