Resistance Poem PAD April 1st

You tug, I pull, we lean

into each other, breathing sips

and gulps of mine and yours––

pushing back, digging in,

ours not working, like the clock,

microwave and oven. But,

we can use the stovetop, look

at watches, avoid the clutter,

share some beers, forget the time,

and exhale into shared nostalgia,

sometimes crossing to the other side.

Kim King 2015

About k2king

Poeming to save myself
This entry was posted in My poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resistance Poem PAD April 1st

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    I love that time and watches made their way into this one, too. I find myself doing that, also, especially in April.

    For the record, you come to my email inbox. 😉 My “visits” may not register every day, and it’s been awhile since I’ve actually taken the time to click over and comment, but I just wanted you to know you are being read. 🙂

  2. k2king says:

    Thank you, so much! I appreciate your comments and positive messages!

Leave a Reply

