Siblings

The other children come, but never steal
the spot.  The second laughs at rules and tells
the jokes.  The third has Daddy tied in knots.
They follow not, but make their way along
the stream.  The eddies swallow weaker sorts,
but these are wily ones.  They lasso moons
and rope the stars astride a bucking bronc.
No spurs, no reins, they gallop off.  The first
just waits with rope in hand to tether clouds.

© 2011 Kim King

About k2king

Poeming to save myself
This entry was posted in My poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Siblings

  1. Lu Ann says:

    I thought about my litte sister when I read this. Very nice picture you created 🙂 I could see them!

  2. Walt says:

    Your work looks familiar! Could it be we’ve shared a poetry blog? A city? Something?
    Appreciate your work and dedication. This seems to be a nice place to be.

    • k2king says:

      My Lake Erie buddy! Just read your note while the Bills were picking in the draft.
      Thanks for visiting ! I feel a special kinship to all the poets on Robert’s PAD site. Did you see that I added you to my blog roll?

  3. Jingle says:

    wow,

    smiles, Glad to see Walt and You have instantly friendship as poets.
    he is determined and you are super lovely and sweet….

    keep it up.

    amazing work.
    🙂

    come to potluck on Sunday again…

  4. Jingle says:

    me 2, I am oldest of three at home as well………..

  5. join us tonight again…

    🙂

  6. Evelyn says:

    Another family one I can easily feel…

  7. Kim…brilliant portrayal of the feel of each place in the family dynamic….wonderful lassoing moon rope held in eldest’s hand….

  8. Aw…thanks for adding me to your blog roll…I did a little straightening up over there on my blog…but jut looked on IPAD and my titles are nit showing…. Hmmmmm…anyhoo have been playing with The Sunday Whirl Wordles which are great fun!

Leave a Reply

